The Judith J. Saklad Memorial Award

Judith J. Saklad, Pharm.D. The Judith J. Saklad Memorial Award celebrates the life and work of the late Judith J. Saklad. Dr. Saklad was Clinical Pharmacologist and Clinical Coordinator of Pharmaceutical Services at San Antonio State School and Clinical Assistant Professor of Pharmacy and Pharmacology at The University of Texas at Austin and the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. She was a founding member of CPNP and nationally recognized as an innovator of pharmaceutical care to children and adults with serious mental disorders, developmental disabilities, and mental retardation.

This award is to be presented annually to a senior psychiatric pharmacy practitioner who has achieved a level of professional distinction and demonstrates a continuing dedication to the practice of psychiatric pharmacy. Like Dr. Saklad, this practitioner will represent the qualities and ideals of professional enthusiasm, in addition to possessing a passion for optimizing patient care.

Past recipients of this award include Glen Stimmel (1998), Barbara Wells (1999), Lindsay DeVane (2000), Larry Ereshefsky (2001), Lynn Crismon (2002), Martha Fankhauser (2003), R. Lee Evans (2004), Stephen Bryant (2005), James E. Wilson (2006), Michael Z. Wincor (2007), Ann Richards (2008), Stanley Weber (2009), Ray Love (2010), Roger W. Sommi (2011), Stephen Saklad (2012), Paul Perry (2013), Cynthia Kirkwood (2014), Carla Cobb (2015), Sally Guthrie (2016), Eugene Makela (2017), Matthew Fuller (2018), and Gary Levin (2019).

View past recipients' biographies and presentations.

Saklad Award Criteria

2020 Saklad Award Recipient

Julie Dopheide, PharmD, BCPP, FASHP
Professor of Clinical Pharmacy, Psychiatry and the Behavioral Sciences
University of Southern California
School of Pharmacy
Los Angeles, CA

Dr. Dopheide is Professor of Clinical Pharmacy at the University of Southern California School Of Pharmacy and holds a joint appointment in Psychiatry and the Behavioral Sciences at USC’s Keck School of Medicine in Los Angeles. She received her PharmD from the University of Nebraska and completed a residency in psychiatric pharmacy practice at the University of Southern California.

Dr. Dopheide is a board certified psychiatric pharmacist who provides clinical service for adults and children with psychiatric illness at Los Angeles County + USC Medical Center. She has been USC’s PGY2 Psychiatric Pharmacy residency program director since 1998 and supervises the resident in the provision of comprehensive medication management on the inpatient psychiatry service and clinics. She is actively involved in teaching pharmacy students, medical students, allied health, and psychiatry residents in both the classroom and clinical settings. Dr. Dopheide has taught over 600 APPEs during her 31 years at USC and was named “Best APPE Preceptor for 2017-2018”, an award she also received in 2000-2001.

Dr. Dopheide has over 40 publications in peer-reviewed journals, professional publications, and textbooks. Dr. Dopheide currently serves as vice-chair of the Board of Pharmacy Specialties Psychiatric Specialty Council. She has twice been invited to serve as a Healthcare Manpower Development Expert for the Ministry of Health in Singapore and has served as faculty for Tokyo College of Life Sciences.

Dr. Dopheide has been a member of CPNP since its inception and is a founding member of CPNPF. She served as president of CPNP in 2013-2014 and is co-advisor to CPNP’s student chapter. Dr. Dopheide is active in the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP), American Society of Hospital Pharmacists (ASHP), American Pharmacists Association (APhA) and the National Alliance for the Mentally Ill (NAMI).