Salt Lake City and the 22nd CPNP Annual Meeting served as the setting for the awarding of the 2019 Judith J. Saklad Memorial Award to Gary M. Levin, PharmD, BCPP, FCCP, Professor and Founding Dean, Larkin University, Miami, Florida.

The Judith J. Saklad Memorial Award is presented annually to a senior psychiatric pharmacy practitioner who has achieved a level of professional distinction and represents the qualities and ideals of professional enthusiasm, a passion for optimizing patient care, and continuing dedication to the practice of psychiatric pharmacy. The Saklad Memorial Award is named after the late Judith J. Saklad.

Dr. Gary M. Levin is a Professor and Founding Dean of the Larkin University College of Pharmacy in Miami, Florida. Prior to joining Larkin, Dr. Levin was the Associate Dean and Professor for Clinical Programs at Roseman University. Prior positions include Founding Campus Dean and Professor for LECOM – School of Pharmacy, Bradenton Florida Campus; Chairman of the Pharmacy Practice Department at Nova Southeastern University College of Pharmacy; the same position at South University School of Pharmacy in Savannah, Georgia. Prior to that, Dr. Levin was a tenured faculty in the Colleges of Pharmacy and Medicine (Department of Psychiatry) at the University of Florida where he became a vice chairman for research. He received his Pharm.D. from the University of Florida, then completed a Residency in Psychiatric Pharmacy Practice at the Gainesville VAMC followed by a Research Fellowship in Psychopharmacology at the University of Florida College of Pharmacy. His first academic position was for seven years at Albany College of Pharmacy. Dr. Levin has been active in many professional pharmacy organizations and has held various appointed and elected positions. He has published almost 150 peer-reviewed manuscripts, book chapters, and scientific abstracts.

Congratulations to Dr. Levin!