The College of Psychiatric and Neurologic Pharmacists (CPNP) membership has elected three officers to serve on the 2021-2023 Board of Directors. Assuming their offices effective July 1, 2021, will be Drs. Michelle Geier, Cindy Gutierrez, and Sarah Melton.

Newly elected Board members will fill the following roles on the Board:

  • Michelle L. Geier, PharmD, BCPP, Member-at-Large, Psychiatric Clinical Pharmacist Supervisor, San Francisco Department of Public Health, San Francisco, CA
  • Cindy Gutierrez, PharmD, MS, BCPP, Incoming President-Elect, Associate Chief, Clinical Pharmacy Programs, South Texas Veterans Health Care System, San Antonio, TX
  • Sarah T. Melton, PharmD, BCPP, BCACP, FASCP, Treasurer, Professor of Pharmacy Practice, Gatton College of Pharmacy, Johnson City, TN

CPNP President Marshall Cates noted, “These qualified CPNP members are highly deserving of this recognition by their peers and will make excellent contributions to the future of CPNP and the profession of psychiatric pharmacy. We look forward to integrating their insights and experience into the Board.” The election of Cindy Gutierrez to the position of President-Elect leaves a vacancy on the 2021-2022 Board of Directors in the position of secretary which, per bylaws, President Cates is responsible for filling. “CPNP has been engaged in in-depth strategic planning since early 2020,” said Cates. “Given the extensive process and involvement to date by Board members, I have invited current CPNP Board Treasurer Tawny Smith to extend her term on the Board of Directors for an additional year. This term continuation allows CPNP to continue to benefit from Dr. Smith’s experience on the Board and her in-depth involvement in the ongoing strategic planning efforts.”

Drs. Geier, Gutierrez, and Melton will immediately become involved (or continue their involvement) in CPNP’s 2020-2021 strategic planning efforts in concert with current board members as follows:

  • Marshall Cates, PharmD, BCPP, FASHP, FCCP, President, Professor of Pharmacy Practice, Samford University McWhorter School of Pharmacy, Birmingham, AL
  • Lisa Goldstone, MS, PharmD, BCPS, BCPP, Past President (term concludes June 30, 2021), Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy/Associate Director of Residency Programs, University of Southern California School of Pharmacy, Los Angeles, CA
  • Robert Haight, PharmD, BCPP, President-Elect, Clinical Pharmacist | Forensic Services, Saint Peter Regional Treatment Center (SPRTC), Minnesota Department of Human Services, Saint Peter, MN
  • Tawny Smith, PharmD, BCPP, Treasurer (term concludes June 30, 2021), Associate Professor of Psychiatry, The University of Texas at Austin, Dell Medical School, Austin, TX
  • Clint Ross, PharmD, BCPP, Member-at-Large, Psychiatric Clinical Pharmacy Specialist, Residency Program Director, Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston, SC
  • Heidi Wehring, PharmD, BCPP, Member-at-Large (term concludes June 30, 2021), Assistant Professor of Psychiatry, Maryland Psychiatric Research Center, University of Maryland School of Medicine, Baltimore, MD

CPNP extends a thank you to the nominating committee which consisted of Megan Ehret, PharmD, MS, BCPP (Chair), Lisa Goldstone, MS, PharmD, BCPS, BCPP, Steven Stoner, PharmD, BCPP, Chris Thomas, PharmD, BCPP, and Amy Vandenberg, PharmD, BCPP.