Return to The CPNP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >

Saklad Memorial Award

CPNP was honored to present the Saklad Memorial Award at the 2014 CPNP Annual Meeting for the seventeenth time. This award celebrates the life and work of the late Judith J. Saklad. Dr. Saklad was a founding member of CPNP and nationally recognized as an innovator of pharmaceutical care to children and adults with serious mental disorders, developmental disabilities and mental retardation. The 2014 recipient is Dr. Cynthia Kirkwood.

Cynthia Kirkwood, PharmD, BCPP
Professor and Vice Chair for Education

Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond, Virginia

Cynthia K. Kirkwood, Pharm.D., BCPP is Professor with tenure and Vice Chair for Education in the Department of Pharmacotherapy and Outcomes Sciences in the School of Pharmacy at Virginia Commonwealth University. She obtained her B.S. and Doctor of Pharmacy degrees from Virginia Commonwealth University and completed an ASHP Research and Education Fellowship in Psychiatric Pharmacy Practice at this institution. The adult inpatient psychiatry unit of the Virginia Commonwealth University Health Systems serves as her primary practice and teaching site for students and residents. She has served as a consultant for Richmond Behavioral Health Authority, Virginia Office of Protection and Advocacy, Department of Medical Assistance Services Pharmacy & Therapeutics Committee, and Richmond Psychiatric Institute for Children and Adolescents. She is a member of AACP, ACCP, ASHP, VSHP, CPNP, and the Team-based Learning Collaborative. She has been the Board Certified Psychiatric Pharmacists Recertification Director for the College of Psychiatric and Neurologic Pharmacists since 2007 and is actively involved with the editorial boards for the recertification and review course products. In both 1999 and 2007 she was awarded the VCU School of Pharmacy Teaching Excellence Award. She has served as a reviewer for Currents in Pharmacy Teaching and Learning, Annals of Pharmacotherapy, and American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education. Her research interests have included pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, and outcomes of psychiatric drugs in adults and children, and the assessment of learning outcomes, interprofessional education, and team work in pharmacy students. She has provided invited lectures and authored book chapters and articles on anxiety and sleep disorders, and active learning.

CPNP Research Awards

Abstracts and Awards Council Chair Benjamin Chavez, PharmD, BCPP, BCACP, is pleased to recognize the Research and Practice Award winners and finalists selected at the recently completed 17th Annual Meeting. These awards recognize excellence in investigators presenting abstracts at the CPNP Annual Meeting. Award Finalists presented platform presentations and displayed their posters during the meeting.

Award Winners

Innovative Practice Award Winner:
Elizabeth Winans, PharmD, BCPP, Clinical Pharmacist, University of Missouri-Kansas City, Kansas City, MO: Development and Implementation of a Psychiatric Emergency Department Medication Refill Clinic

Original Research Award Winner:
Jack Chen, PharmD, BCPS, CGP, FASCP, FCCP, Associate Professor, Loma Linda University, Loma Linda, CA: Clinical Outcomes in Patients with Parkinson's Disease Treated With a Monoamine Oxidase Type-B Inhibitor (MAOB-I): A Cross-Sectional Study

Research Trainee Award Winner:
Traci Turner, PharmD, Pharmacy Resident, Chillicothe Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Chillicothe, OH: An Evaluation of Relapse with Regards to Dose and Concomitant Use of Sedating Medications in a Veteran Population Prescribed Buprenorphine/Naloxone: A Retrospective Cohort Study

Therapeutic Case Report Award Winner:
Thomas Smith, PharmD, Assistant Professor of  Pharmacy Practice, Manchester College of Pharmacy, Fort Wayne, IN: Eyes Playing Tricks: A Possible Case of Charles Bonnet Syndrome

New Investigator Award Winner:
James Stevenson, PharmD,
PGY1 Pharmacy Practice Resident, University of Illinois at Chicago, , Outpatient Psychiatry, Chicago, IL: Glutamate System Gene Polymorphisms and Antipsychotic Response in First Episode Psychosis

Award Finalists

Innovative Practice Award Finalists:
Tara Reddy, PharmD, BCPP, Clinical Pharmacist, Harry S. Truman VA, Columbia, MO: Psychiatric Pharmacy Practice in Home Based Primary Care

Deborah Thompson, PharmD, BCPP, Clinical Pharmacy Specialist-Psychiatry, Fraser Health Authority, Langley, BC: The Psychosis Treatment Optimization Program: An Integrated Community-Based Program for the Management of Treatment Resistant Psychosis

Research Trainee Award Finalist:
Conor Bowman, BA, Pharmacist Intern, UCSD Skaggs School of Pharmacy, La Jolla, CA
Caffeine Augmentation On Electroconvulsive Therapy Seizure Duration In Depressive Disorders

Therapeutic Case Report Award Finalists:
Stephanie Phan, PharmD, BCPP, Clinical Assistant Faculty, University of Georgia College of Pharmacy, Albany, GA: Ziconotide-Induced Psychosis: A Case Report

Samantha Schulenberg, PharmD, Pharmacy Resident, HEB Pharmacy/University of Texas at Austin, Austin, TX: The Cholinesterase Inhibitor that Broke the Camel’s Back? A Case Report of Neuroleptic Malignant Syndrome when Donepezil is Added to Maintenance Haloperidol Decanoate

Return to The CPNP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >