Return to The CPNP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >

We are now over 1 month into CPNP’s 2014-2015 fiscal year with July 1 marking the transition of officers on the Board of Directors. We express a wealth of thanks and gratitude to board members who concluded their board term as of June 30, 2014.

  • Ellie Elliott, PharmD, BCPP, Secretary, Residency Director and Clinical Pharmacist, Center for Behavioral Medicine, Kansas City, MO
  • Rex Lott, PharmD, BCPP, Past President, Professor of Pharmacy Practice, Idaho State University College of Pharmacy, Boise VA Medical Center, Boise, ID
  • Troy Moore, PharmD, BCPP, MS, Member-at-Large, Clinical Pharmacy Specialist/Assistant Professor, STVHCS/University of Texas HSC San Antonio, Audie L. Murphy VA Hospital, San Antonio, TX

Meet your 2014-2015 officers.


Steven M. Burghart, DPh, MBA, BCPP
Director of Pharmacy
Rolling Hills Hospital
Franklin, TN

Dr. Burghart joined CPNP in 2000 and has served as Board Treasurer and committee member. He previously served as Chair of the Specialty Council on Psychiatric Pharmacy at the Board of Pharmacy Specialties and has served for a number of years on the Board of the Kansas Pharmacists Association and was the 2003 recipient of the Harold N. Godwin Lecture award from the Kansas Society of Health System Pharmacists. He notes, “The future of the association and the specialty is exciting because it is filled with both tremendous opportunities and significant challenges.”


Ray Love, PharmD, BCPP, FASHP
University of Maryland
Baltimore, MD

Dr. Love is a founding member of CPNP and one of the committee chairs of the original Board of Pharmacy Specialties petition for recognition of Psychiatric Pharmacists. He received a Doctor of Pharmacy graduate from the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy and has fulfilled variety of roles including psychiatric clinical pharmacist, area health education center (AHEC) director, residency director, director of pharmacy, state mental health pharmacy program director and associate dean. He currently directs the Mental Health Pharmacy Program which employs 36 pharmacists in psychiatric practice throughout Maryland and represents the American Pharmacists Association on the Pharmacy Quality Alliance Mental Health Workgroup.

Past President

Julie A. Dopheide, Pharm.D., BCPP
Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Psychiatry and the Behavioral Sciences
USC School of Pharmacy and
Keck School of Medicine
Los Angeles, CA

Dr. Dopheide received a Doctor of Pharmacy Degree from the University of Nebraska and completed a residency in psychiatric pharmacy practice at the University of Southern California.  She has been on the faculty of USC’s School of Pharmacy since 1991 and the Keck School of Medicine since 1998. Julie is the PGY2 psychiatric pharmacy residency program director, and has an ongoing practice in adult and pediatric psychiatry while teaching pharmacy students, medical students and psychiatry residents in didactic and clinical settings.  She is also a member of the Pediatric Psychotropic Guidelines Development team for Los Angeles County.


Jennifer L. Zacher, Pharm.D., BCPP
Assistant Chief Consultant
VA Pharmacy Benefits Management Service
Hines, IL

Dr. Zacher has been a member of CPNP since joining as a student in 2004. She received a Doctor of Pharmacy Degree from the University of Illinois at Chicago in 2004. After graduation, she completed a Psychiatric Pharmacy Practice Residency at the Louis Stokes Cleveland VA Medical Center. She became Board Certified in Psychiatric Pharmacy in 2006, and in July of that year, she took the position of clinical pharmacy specialist at the Captain James A. Lovell Federal Health Care Center (formerly the North Chicago VA Medical Center). Dr. Zacher is currently Assistant Chief Consultant at the VA Pharmacy Benefits Management Service in Hines, Illinois. In this position, she is part of the management team that oversees formulary management, contracting, and emergency pharmacy services for the VA on a national level.


Christopher Thomas, Pharm.D., BCPP, BCPS, CGP
Residency Program Director for PGY-1 and PGY-2 Psychiatry Specialty
Clinical Pharmacy Specialist in Psychiatry
Chillicothe Veterans Affairs Medical Center (VAMC)

Clinical Assistant Professor of Pharmacology
Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medication

Chillicothe, OH

Dr. Thomas joined CPNP in 1999 as a pharmacy student, and has been actively involved in the organization in a variety of capacities. He has been in the field of psychiatric pharmacy for 13 years. He earned a Doctor of Pharmacy from Butler University in 2000 and completed a Psychiatric Pharmacy Residency at the Cleveland Veterans Affairs Medical Center (VAMC) in 2001. Upon completing residency training, Chris joined the Chillicothe VAMC. The Chillicothe VAMC serves veterans from Southern Ohio, Western West Virginia and Eastern Kentucky. Chris believes “CPNP plays a vital role in developing the future practice of psychiatric and neurologic pharmacists. Because we are a member driven, membered focused organization, I believe we have boundless opportunities as a profession to enhance the health care of patients suffering from mental illness.”


Megan Ehret, PharmD, BCPP
Associate Professor
University of Connecticut
Storrs, CT

Dr. Ehret received a PharmD degree from the University of Toledo in 2003 and then completed an ASHP accredited residency at the Louis Stokes VAMC in Cleveland, Ohio and a Psychopharmacology and Pharmacogenomics fellowship at Nova Southeastern University.  She became board certified in psychiatric pharmacy in 2007. She is currently Assistant Professor at the University of Connecticut in the Department of Pharmacy Practice.  Her primary practice site is at the Institute of Living (IOL) on an inpatient adult general psychiatry unit.


Jonathan Lacro, PharmD, BCPP, BCPS
VA San Diego Healthcare System
San Diego, CA

Dr. Lacro has been a member of CPNP since 2002. He received a Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of the Pacific in 1990. After graduating, he completed a PGY1 Pharmacy Practice residency at the VA San Diego Healthcare System (VASDHS) and a Research Fellowship in Geriatric Mental Health at the University of California, San Diego (UCSD). Currently, he is Director of Pharmacy Education and Training at the VA San Diego Healthcare System (VASDHS). Specifically, he serves as the Program Director for their PGY1 Pharmacy Practice and PGY2 Psychiatric Pharmacy Practice Residency programs. Teaching activities include precepting Doctor of Pharmacy students in Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experiences as well as PGY1 Pharmacy Residents on a psychiatry rotation.

Past President Advisory Appointee

Cherry Jackson, PharmD, BCPP, FASHP
Professor of Pharmacy, Auburn University
Professor of Medicine, University of Alabama-Birmingham
Auburn University Harrison School of Pharmacy
University of Alabama-Birmingham, School of Medicine
Birmingham, AL

Dr. Jackson received a BS degree in biology from Winthrop University. At the Medical University of South Carolina, she completed a BS degree in Pharmacy, a Doctor of Pharmacy degree, and an American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP)-accredited residency in Psychiatric Pharmacy Practice. She currently serves as Professor at the Auburn University, and Clinical Specialist at University of Alabama Birmingham. Board certified in psychiatric pharmacy practice, her primary area of interest and research is in schizophrenia, mood disorders, and adverse effects of psychotropics. She lectures and publishes extensively in psychiatry, and is a member of several editorial boards.

Return to The CPNP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article  Next Article >