Return to The CPNP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article

CPNP President, Deanna Kelly, PharmD, BCPP, has been named awardee of the 2017 Maltz Prize  for Innovative and Promising Schizophrenia Research from the Brain and Behavior Research Foundation. Dr. Kelly will accept the award in New York City on October 27, 2017. Congratulations Deanna!

The CPNP Foundation is pleased to announce the recipients of the third annual Defining the Future Research Grant Awards. A requirement of the grant program is that the research project must mirror one of the current interests of the Foundation. The grant selection team felt that the three selected research projects aligned well with topics in psychiatry, neurology, and substance use disorders. The award recipients are as follows (in alphabetical order):

  • Amanda Colistro, PharmD student, Midwestern University : Safe Opioid Prescribing Course Effect on Opioid Overdose Knowledge and Attitude Scales Across Multidisciplinary Students
  • Andrew Naglich, PharmD, VA North Texas Healthcare System: Association of SSRI/ SNRI Treatment with Substance Use Disorder Symptom Severity in Veterans with PTSD
  • Deepika Rao, Graduate Student, Duquesne University: Community Pharmacist and Substance Abuse Disorders: Attitudes, Knowledge and Practice.”

Joshana Goga, PharmD, BCPP, Green Belt Lean Six Sigma, represented CPNP at the "Mental Health and Older Adults Roundtable" on October 4 to advance mental health and substance use issues in the aging.

  • The woman in the picture is Susan Peschin MHS, President and CEO Alliance for Aging Research. Dilip Jeste MD, Director UC San Deigo Center for Healthy Aging, is also pictured. Both were organizers of the event.

Cindy Gutierrez, PharmD, MS, BCPP, has been promoted to Associate Chief, Clinical Pharmacy Programs at the South Texas Veterans Health Care System.

CPNP Past-President Charlie Caley takes a leadership role in CT on medication non-adherence. Read more.

Return to The CPNP Perspective issue main page.< Previous Article