If you would like to send a message to the board of directors, please use the contact form or email board@cpnp.org. The 2021-2022 Board represents a variety of practice settings such that their jobs consist of Academia (43%), Clinical (43%), and Research (14%).

Robert Haight, PharmD, BCPP
Clinical Pharmacist | Forensic Services
Saint Peter Regional Treatment Center (SPRTC)
Minnesota Department of Human Services
Saint Peter, MN

Clinical: 65%; Administrative: 10%; Other: 25%
I am one of ten pharmacists in Forensic Services at the Saint Peter Regional Treatment Center (SPRTC). Our site provides care for patients committed as Mentally Ill and Dangerous as well as the Forensic Nursing Home. Average census is approximately 330 patients. We also provide coverage for six, Community Behavioral Health Hospitals (CBHH) and the Child and Adolescent Behavioral Health Hospital (CABHH) located throughout Minnesota.

Cindy Gutierrez, PharmD, MS, BCPP
Associate Chief, Clinical Pharmacy Programs
South Texas Veterans Health Care System
San Antonio, TX

Academia: 5%; Clinical: 10%; Administrative: 85%
I oversee all clinical pharmacy programs at my institution, including 17 mental health clinical pharmacy specialist FTE in outpatient, inpatient, substance abuse, and residential rehab settings.  In my own clinical practice, I serve on an interdisciplinary outpatient team who provides care for those with serious mental illness who have not achieved goals in traditional outpatient settings.  The team is comprised of 1 psychiatrist, 4 psychiatry residents, 2 psychologists, an LCSW, a nurse, and 2 clinical pharmacy specialists.  I provide patient care under a scope of practice, which allows prescribing, ordering of tests including imaging as appropriate, and submitting consults.

Marshall Cates, PharmD, BCPP, FASHP, FCCP
Past President
Professor of Pharmacy Practice
Samford University McWhorter School of Pharmacy
Birmingham, AL

Academia: 100%
Since I'm a department chair, I don't currently have a practice site. However, I am involved in a clinic every few months that is dedicated to mental health care for the medically underserved. My primary teaching responsibilities include lecturing in psychiatric pharmacotherapy and teaching an elective course titled “Mental Illness and Treatment in the Movies.” I am routinely involved in various mental health-related scholarly pursuits, including clinical, laboratory, and pedagogical research projects.

Sarah Melton, PharmD, BCPP, BCACP, FASCP
Professor of Pharmacy Practice
Gatton College of Pharmacy
East Tennessee State University
Johnson City, TN

Academia: 20%; Clinical: 80%
I provide comprehensive medication management in 3 ambulatory care settings. These include the Center of Excellence for HIV/AIDS, ETSU Health Internal Medicine, and the Johnson City Community Health Center. I precept student pharmacists on IPPE and APPE rotations and also precept PGY-2 residents in Internal Medicine and Ambulatory Care. Within the College of Pharmacy, I coordinate the Integrated Series on Neurologic and Psychiatric Pharmacy as well as the Addiction in Appalachia interprofessional elective course. I am the advisor for our student chapter of CPNP. 

Tawny Smith, PharmD, BCPP
Associate Professor of Psychiatry
The University of Texas at Austin, Dell Medical School
Austin, TX

Academia: 20%; Clinical: 75%; Other: 5%
I practice in both the inpatient and outpatient settings. I am the director of the psychopharmacology consult service at a psychiatric hospital and supervise 3rd year psychiatry residents completing the rotation with me. In the outpatient setting, I provide direct patient care in a women's reproductive mental health clinic and bipolar disorders clinic under a collaborative practice agreement. Additionally, I provide consultative services in the treatment resistant depression and cognitive disorders clinics.

Clint Ross, PharmD, BCPP
Psychiatric Clinical Pharmacy Specialist, Residency Program Director
Medical University of South Carolina
Charleston, SC

Academia: 10%; Clinical: 85%; Administrative: 5%
I serve on inpatient psychiatry teams (~15 patients and ~8 healthcare professionals and students each) at a 100-bed psychiatric hospital within an academic medical center with 4 other psychiatric pharmacists and 2 Psychiatric Pharmacy Residents. Those admitted to my particular unit(s) most commonly have a psychotic or mood disorder. I serve as Residency Program Director for PGY2 Psychiatric Pharmacy residents and as a clinical preceptor to other pharmacy residents and students. We also manage patients in a PharmD Injection Clinic administering LAIAs and LAI naltrexone as well as other outpatient clinics.

Michelle Geier, PharmD, BCPP
Psychiatric Clinical Pharmacist Supervisor
San Francisco Department of Public Health
San Francisco, CA

Clinical: 40%; Administrative: 60%
I am a psychiatric clinical pharmacist supervisor for a county public health department that also maintains a clinical practice site. I supervise 7 psychiatric clinical pharmacists. I also manage a caseload of psychiatric and substance use disorders clients under a collaborative practice agreement at a county mental health clinic that predominantly serves people experiencing homelessness on admission and dual diagnosis. I oversee substance use disorder clinical services at our county mental health and substance use disorders pharmacy that serves approximately 200 people with opioid use disorder. I participate in multiple quality improvement committees for our health plan that is responsible for all Medicaid beneficiaries with a serious mental illness in our county. I serve at the Residency Program Director for our PGY2 in psychiatry.

Benjamin Chavez, PharmD, BCPP, BCACP
Ex Officio
DEI Representative
Clinical Pharmacist / Clinical Professor
Salud Family Health
Arvada, CO

Brenda K Schimenti
Ex Officio
Executive Director
CPNP 8055 O Street, Ste. S113
Lincoln, NE 68510
(402) 476-1677